• Home
  • Transparency
  • Contact Us
  • History

    The enactment of Republic Act 8047, also known as the Book Publishing Industry Development Act, was a clear demonstration of the government's attention to the important role of books in nation building. The law created the National Book Development Board (NBDB) which is tasked primarily to formulate and implement a National Book Policy with a corresponding National Book Development Plan geared towards the development of the book publishing industry. The birth of the NBDB was a long struggle that started in 1998 in the halls of Congress by men who shared a vision and the desire to see the growth of the book publishing industry in the Philippines. That remarkable struggle ended on June 7, 1995 when His Excellency, President Fidel V. Ramos, signed into law Republic Act No. 8047, otherwise known as the Book Publishing Industry Development Act which created the National Book Development Board. RA 8047 repealed Executive Order 492, series of 1991, as amended, the law which created the Instructional Materials Development Center, under the Department of Education, Culture and Sports (DECS).

    Dr. Dennis T. Gonzalez


    25 October 2001 - 28 September 2011

    Lecturer, Ateneo School of Government and Ateneo Graduate School of Business

    Hon. Vilma L. Labrador


    Undersecretary, Department of Education Chair, National Commission for Culture and the Arts

    Government Members

    Elmer C. Hernandez


    Department of Trade and Industry

    Nona S. Ricafort, PhD


    Commission on Higher Educaction

    Dr. Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo

    6 March 2004 - 13 September 2011


    UST Publishing House

    Mr. Roland R. Robles

    9 June 2006 - 13 September 2011


    Souvenir Publications Inc.

    Hon. Ma. Alegria Sibal-Limjoco

    9 March 2004 - 13 September 2011


    Philippine Franchise Association

    Atty. Laudimer I. Samar

    Board Secretary and Legal Consultant

    Dr. Queena Lee-Chua

    6 March 2004 - 13 September 2011


    Professor Ateneo de Manila University

    Atty. Andrea Pasion-Flores

    Executive Director

    16 January 2007 - 31 May 2013