• Home
  • Transparency
  • Contact Us
  • Catch a Falling Star

    Catch a Falling Star

    Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo

    Winner, National Book Award, Fiction, 1999
    With this collection of stories, Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo departs from the “tale” mode of her previous books Tales for a Rainy Night (1993) and Where Only the Moon Rages (1994), and returns to the realistic short story, the mode of her earlier collection Ballad of a Lost Season (1987). But the simple narrative style and the nostalgic tone of these new stories about the young girl, Patriciang Payatot, are reminiscent of the tales, as well as of her travel essays?a genre in which she pioneered, and which some critics regards as her best work.
    Pasig City: Anvil Publishing, 1999
    ISBN: 971-270-877-2
    148 pages

    No Comments Yet.

    Leave a comment